paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

novellas and the universe

This evening I read WIlliam Kotzwinkle's novella Swimmer in the Secret Sea . Touching, beautiful but extremely sad. I had tears running down my neck as I stretched out on the couch to read it. I don't want to give away the plot because that always bothers me, when people give away the plot. What I would like to say, though, is that this novella is absolutely poetic (of course, written by a poet) and the narrator of the story makes the most graceful and gracious observations about the characters and life without ever losing control and becoming sentimental or over-done.

Later Quinn and I will go look at Mars through a giant telescope on the top floor of one of the buildings at the university. Hopefully it will not be too crowded and we will get a glimpse. I can't imagine 60,000 years -- longer than humans have been on earth. How can planets be that far apart and in the same galaxy? Isn't it wild to realize that it is impossible to know the universe in which we live?

Always surprises. Like much it is possible to know about the person you love, yet how much more there is to know know beyond that.

8:51 p.m. - 2003-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater