paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i did not get cut

Today I had lunch with someone I met a few weeks ago at a fundraising luncheon. It was one of those things where our paths had not quite converged and yet there we were meeting each other years � decades -- later. His son and my father had had the same teacher (being vague to protect the innocent). And today he took me to lunch and I sat there eating my wonderful food listening to him talk about his experiences and his large family and his grandchildren. They all seem so close � as though they are caught up in each others� lives. Sometimes it�s dramatic, sometimes chaotic but I was guessing their family members are never lonely. I had the impression that he was well-known by many because he seems to circulate and seems to not know a stranger. Here I was a stranger and yet we were having lunch and visiting. He introduced me to the owner of the store and told him to be good to me. And he showed me a couple short cuts to a parking lot through a hair salon and everyone knew him. I�m amazed by people who can weave such intricate patterns around a city and among so many. It�s a skill I wish I had.

It's a fun thing about how paths cross. My father has had so many fallings out with people and has left so many lives and yet living in this town I keep running into the fragments. Sometimes they are sharp. And sometimes they are interesting.

Today I did not get cut.

3:58 p.m. - 2006-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater