paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the mighty guru

It�s Monday morning and just a few minutes before the time to start work. It�s bitter cold and the snow from last week clings where the cold sun, ice melt and shovels did not get it. The snow is crusty and the ice is dirty and thick and smooth. A recipe for a fall. I�m walking carefully.

I�m about to have my first day at work medicated. I went to the doctor on Thursday morning and he gave me lots of medicine for my anxiety. I�ve been having chest pains and hyperventilation at work because, basically, it is tense around here. The AD just under me is manipulative and has the �shoe clerk mentality.� And one might say this little institution is embroiled in a brand of street-fighting pluralism because the institution is significantly in debt. A good many of first things are going first.

So I�m going to take the anti-anxiety medication and try a day without gripping chest pains and shortness of breath. And I�m going to hope that makes a significant difference. At the very least is helps to at least take action.

This morning I took Quinn to the airport and got her settled on a big week-long adventure to go learn the latest version of a big computer program. I suspect on Friday morning she will be gurued and will be bestowed with the latest book of secrets and potions. The other people at her work are jealous of her guru status. They wish they had that guru thing going for them� instead they have cheap middle-management suits and applied masters degrees. That being they say things in meetings such as �what will we do if Quinn gets hit by a bus?� Americans have so much work baggage. I like to remind them that it�s a job. And when the Chancellor said that this was the greatest thing they would ever do with their lives, he was being speechy. I don�t know why he�d say such a thing � helping students register is important but some may feel being a good mother, for instance, is more important. He may have said it because it sounded good and made him seem important. Perhaps he has a speech before the battle complex. So at any rate, Quinn, with her guru status, is off on a quest for her next badge and the mighty guru sash. I hope she remembers to get me a Jack t-shirt if they still have them (hint, hint).

8:06 a.m. - 2006-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater