paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not forgetting and laughing

a rainy saturday morning

Yesterday, I heard a live version of that song Sailing by Christopher Cross -- a song that most people have probably heard too much of in recent years. For some reason it gave me a sweet memory, as songs can often do, of my grandmother and I in her Mark Twain in-board boat, anchored in the quiet part of a lake, seats folded out, laying down and watching the skies. The motion of the water lulled me to sleep. And my grandmother thought we'd just spend the night there instead of going back and doing the dishes. I remember having to work at relaxing over the course of the night, what if the anchor slips, what if we are in the way of another boat? I kept telling myself that we are in a deserted cove, that the tourist season was long-gone, and that my grandmother wasn't sound asleep -- she was just being quiet, taking in deep long star-filled breaths, enjoying the peace.

It's a good thing to learn -- not being lazy, but how and when to let go and enjoy.

Quinn and I did just that last weekend. We went to Michigan to visit some friends and had so much fun. On the return flight, I was aware that my stomache muscles ached from laughing. I've been thinking that is one of the very best parts of life -- laughing with friends. It's kind of simple and in the adult world it almost requires planning, but it's great.

9:16 a.m. - 2004-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater