paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

productivity of the holiday season

Ahhh. Turkey day has come and gone. And this year, Quinn and I had a productive Thanksgiving break. First, we readied our small gem-of-a-house for holiday visitors. I make this sound like a small project, but given the state of exhaustion and overwork which led to a loosening of the mighty cleaning grip, we found ourselves cleaning, scrubbing, polishing, repairing, organizing, sewing � transforming mull hills into mountains. (In the twenty-first century it is no longer adequate to make mull hills into mountains � no, in this age of quantum change we transform them and envision them � we are up-to-date around here!) This general readying lasted from the Saturday before Thanksgiving to the Saturday after Thanksgiving, with breaks for work, social/holiday functions, cooking and baking. We attended two Thanksgiving dinners. One at Quinn�s son�s house and one at my mother�s house. I enjoyed the dinner at Carey�s house much more than that at my mother�s house. My mother worked diligently to exclude me from Thanksgiving this year as my favorite aunt was in town. But, I worked in an invitation for Saturday evening after a large Italian feast for desert at the small gem-of-a-house, which, by Saturday, had never been cleaner. Candles flickered. Even the pup was fluffy and clean. By Sunday, my mother had come down with a horrible cold, possibly even the flu, and Quinn and I stepped in and took my favorite aunt on a tour of our fine city. We had a busy but fun day and finished off the holiday weekend on a happy note.

Today I am back at the office trying to stave off panic. I should have worked all weekend. I am so far behind and more success I have the more demands are made on me. Today I am praying to the universe to let me find comfort in mediocrity. Perhaps then I will get some help! At least it works for the community liaison.

Today I am staving off my temptation to break down and write a journal entry about the community liaison and her rather annoying antics entitled �when no one knows what you do, you don�t have to do anything.� But I think this title tells the whole story, anyway, only it is not as humorous.

So from a productive holiday to a foggy work day� the tables are beginning to shift.

4:58 p.m. - 2003-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater