paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

chicken dinners and fancy togs

Waiting to go to a rubber chicken dinner and hang out with the rubber chicken dinner crowd... I'm tired. I don't feel put together. I want to go home and reconnect with my couch or a bed. I'm mildly depressed.

This happens to me -- I'm thankful I don't have huge depression. But I go through mild depressions that wipe away my motivation and my energy, make me afraid to go anywhere, make me fear that I'm blase.

All I do is work and go home. Once I'm there, I watch movies or read. I get nothing done.

Unless you count visiting the Howard Dean websites and being moved and stirred by the sense of hope I feel when I think that he could be President. I won't recount the troubles I see and the sense of gloom I feel under the current administration.

I'm sitting here quite afraid that I am completely under-dressed for the big shin dig this evening. I'm in a nice dark grey suit with ice blue pin stripes, patton leather shoes and an ice blue sweater under the jacket.

Today in the hallway I ran into Kitty Carlisle. At least I thought it was Kitty Carlisle with a blueish tinge to her black hair and a few decades since the pictures I've seen. She looked ready to sing and had a lot of pizzaz about her ... even still.

I loved watching As Good as it Gets last night. Where was I when that was released in theatres? It reminded me of a typical romantic comedy but somehow turned inside out -- so one recognizes it but not quite....

I have a sweater like that. I actually love the inside but am not wild about the outside. Of course it can't really be worn inside out, and so, in effect, its completely useless to me. But still, there is that promise. Or maybe a reminder that sometimes it is good to turn things inside and think about them from a different direction.

Not much to say today. Still waiting for the chicken dinner. Still wondering whether I'm horribly under-dressed.

5:11 p.m. - 2003-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater