paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cliches hanging around

Today I handed in my last project of my master�s degree. This Saturday, I graduate.

A master�s degree is not really a big deal, at least not in English, at least not from the joe city state school I attended. But I think it is a big deal to me. I started it in 1997 and have worked full time at big jobs while taking classes with a bunch of fellow students who don�t work full time in big jobs. Students who have the chance to be graduate teaching assistants and who posture and complain about their students trying to show their passion and their importance. I�ve spent years listening to them, being on the outside of the graduate student life. Outside works well for me. I feel happy inside when I�m thinking about a book or writing a poem, or even a research paper. I wish I could have been a graduate teaching assistant � should I ever get to teach adjunct, I know I�ll be able to inspire at least a portion of the class to learn and I�ll be humble to the grad students!

This evening Quinn and I went on a multi-mile hike down by this creek that runs through the city. On either side of the creek is a nice urban walk-way that leads to a beautiful memorial garden. Two of the greatest citizens of State City may or may not be buried there. Quinn and I debate it because in the garden area is a tomb-like building inscribed with a memorial to the citizens. Sometimes, when the work day gets hectic I walk over to this garden to clear my mind and remember how sweet and pretty living can be. Sometimes when I reach a goal for myself I expect to feel a change. A weight lifted from my shoulders. Answers to unresolved questions about the future. But it all feel continuous. A master�s degree is not really a big deal.

Except I get a life back.

What a long semester I�ve had. On more than one occasion I thought I was nuts. But now, of course, it all seems worth it. And I knew it would going in to the semester. The wonderful thing about clich�s. Last semesters seem to have clich�s hanging around them like scarves.

8:50 p.m. - 2003-05-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater