paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

decor and bathrooms

I need to �claim� my office space. It is so bare and the modern and sleek furniture monstrosities are more sterile than put-together furniture from a depot-store. Part of me wants to be obnoxious just for the heck of it. I got this image of beads hanging in the door, a big poster or two, a few photographs on the walls, a lava lamp, a bunch of stuff for tea, a cozy rug and a fake fireplace. Part dorm room, part pub, part office? I don�t know, the student vibe could take over and I could bring in a bean bag. Alternately, I think a need a big gong that at the moment it all gets to be too much, I could gong repeatedly. I would feel better � kind of a range from some spiritual release to the idiotic gong show. I feel as though everything is up for grabs now that the new person brought in a fountain and a big thing filled with some sort of flowers that burns a little tea light at the top. The fountain has the effect on me that all of those �zen� fountains on the lower end of the price scale have�. And so now, while I am getting used to it, I constantly have to run down the hall to the bathroom.

When I was in grade school, the rooms with our toilets actually had bathtubs in them also, because my grade school was in a former convent. And so, they were accurately called bathrooms. We used to go sit in them for time out. In the sixth grade I had an inappropriately experimental teacher who converted three into �offices� � his theory being that if you were not paying attention in class it was because you thought you were better than everyone else. And who always thinks they are better than everyone else? According to his logic, corporate people who work in offices thought they were so much better than the rest of the people. (I�m not going to argue with his logic because I may find a lot with which to agree.) Anyway, when any student acted up, he or she had to put on a tie and vest, a hat, and go sit in the office. So we could stay caught up with our school work, he wired in an intercom. When we went to our other classes, we had to hand out our business cards with the nature of our crime and put our books in a brief case. The problem was, everyone wanted to go to the office to wear the get-up and be out of uniform. Everyone wanted to be cool. So then he began devising more and more drastic experiments.

Unfortunately a boy named Willie and I were caught sword fighting with rolled up architecture class house plans while standing on desks between classes. Not only were we told �office baby right now� but we got tied together with a rope and had to serve everyone their lunch.

Needless to say, this teacher didn�t last long. I am quite certain all of this can be found in my permanent record.

8:05 a.m. - 2002-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater