paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

jumping rope

I have trouble getting into the fray, so to speak. It reminds me of when I was a child and girls would play double dutch jump rope. We would line up in the schoolyard and run into the ropes while chanting different stories. And jumper would do funny things to accommodate the stories.

Like during the part of Rockin� Robin when the sister is on the corner selling fruit cocktail, we would cross our arms over our chests, turn around, cross our arms over mid-sections, turn around again and cross our arms over our rear ends for the tail�

The neighbor girls were so skilled at this. But I was a bit shier. And I had trouble navigating my timing of the ropes. For some reason I took it literally when I watched girls start bobbing their heads to the beat of the rope, as though they were counting, would reach some number and just be in the ropes, skipping and clapping and singing.

I longed to fit in-- to run into the storm of ropes and be my own person, to contribute to the spirit, mood and celebration. Instead I watched it.

In some ways I still do watch it. I am reminded of this sensation every time I want to get involved. But can�t figure out where to start.

It doesn�t work to wait and hope life notices. Life never notices. There is a wave of energy or spirit that just moves through some things that is so attractive. I feel as though people are having real fun that isn�t about anything but just being. All a girl had to do was just get into the beat of the ropes and catch the spirit.

I�ve never met anyone who understands what I am talking about with my jump rope analogy.

Today, I jumped into the fray at a particularly ugly meeting at work. I jumped in, I talked, I made my point. It felt good.

But that is just a small step. It is easy to jump in when under fire. Harder without that sort of negative motivation.

That�s all.

9:18 p.m. - 2002-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater