paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birthday part two

Yeah. A short entry to add to Happy Birthday to Me. I just got a group call from my friends in P-Town. And it made me miss them, being recreational, already in the day. Decked out in their swimming suits and cover-ups, watching the tide come in and the people wading in the ocean below their deck. There was a parade and they saw Miss Gay Rhode Island.

Here it is pouring down rain. No Miss Gay Rhode Island. Some suburbs are probably having family values parades with kids on bikes, lots of red, white and blue. Lots of competing fireworks displays where people crowd together in lawn chairs (or maybe not today)and ooh and ahh.

In the Midwest, people eat cucumber salad on the 4th of July. And those white cakes with white frosting that have blueberries and sliced strawberries arranged on top to look "flaggish."

It is relieving to me to know that really great places exist. And I can visit them. Somehow their existance out there, keeps the flag cakes funny. If I didn't know people from the great places, I think I would be a lot more concerned about some of the stuff I see when I venture out of our little castle and dare to leave the main part of the city. (This city has its extremely cool moments, but they are moments, not a continual breeze, not a constant energy I can feel. More like a faint pulse.)

I am feeling great to be so remembered on my birthday, and so not confused with Uncle Sam.

My birthday continues....

1:50 p.m. - 2002-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater