paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

alchera project 18

Alchera Project 18

Fiction/Option No. One:

For my fiction lovers, ah, I love you. This month I would like you to write a short story (there is no word count requirement, because I rock) in which your main character(s) is stuck inside of a dream. This character is aware of his dream state (i.e., he knows he is dreaming). In this dream your character is being confronted by something from his life in reality and the only way he can overcome it is through this dream in which he is "stuck." However, the battle he is trying to win cannot be between himself and someone he knows. It must be a battle with himself. Internal conflicts, we shall say.

***************************

Building Blocks

A large city truck backed up to my front yard and deposited a heap of rocks, mostly limestone, with little regard for the path the rocks took once they began sliding out of the tipped bed of the truck. The rocks covered the front garden and probably crushed my birdbath, but I had no time to contemplate the damages. Each moment presented an increased state of frantic activity, hauling rocks, shaping rocks into anything I could build � curved rock walls, rock-stacked patios, and artistic rock structures. My body ached, I thought, but I couldn�t feel it; my body thirsted and hungered, but that to never transform from thought to sensation. My scraped and bloody hands, sweat-soaked clothes, matted and dusty hair entered the story as images and not sensation. And so, like when we watch a movie, I was emotionally moved by my struggle, while at the same time, amazed at my ability to heft and stack and break rocks. Everything I could imagine, so long as it required rocks, I accomplished. I could not stop, despite the distant buzzing, the taps on my shoulder, the light. I wanted to keep going, to keep mastering the challenge. Never before had I lacked limitations, lacked struggle, while at the same time, being constructive.

Or was this some story out of which I worked to build? I began to realize as I piled rocks that I created a monumental dream. I remembered that this was not about me and my abilities, but a challenge to use the rocks the city dumped in my yard before the city returned with the next batch. I convinced myself that if I did not turn the chaotic heap into ordered structures before the next truck full arrived that the city would send two trucks, then four trucks, then sixteen trucks. The rocks would mount up higher than my house, higher than the walls and patios and statues I built. In effect, the rocks would smother me.

I could hear my girlfriend telling me I needed to get up or I would miss work. I mumbled that I didn�t have meetings that I needed to keep building. I mumbled anything to get her to stop distracting me, to let me keep building. I had lost my perspective on everything outside of rocks. The cold earthiness of the limestone, its sharp edges, the fragile ways it cracked and crumbled towards the bottom of the pile. Why couldn�t I stay here and work on my building?

After turning the back into a solid rock-stacked patio with a curved 14-foot wall and two pergolas, I noticed that the pile of rocks had dwindled into a few shards and crumbs I pushed into the walls. And I did not hear another truck winding its way through city streets, towards me. No familiar sounds of clanging rocks from the weight of the load bouncing over poorly paved surfaces. I was going to lay down limestone sidewalks with the next batch since the neighbors had praised my limestone driveway. I began to think about all of this sediment, the time it took for the earth to press itself into these rocks, the time it took to dig them up and pry them loose of their homes. The time I spent cursing the city stuck in patterns set forth so long ago. How complicated and useless my life felt right then. True, I had one this battle but now everything was limestone, everything risked toppling, crumbling, decay, faster than I would ever notice my soil decay or the limestone in a river bed decay. I longed for a sod house, a harsh wind, and the patience to plant myself in the sun.

I was soaked with the sweat. The late morning sun streamed in through the window and the air conditioning had set back so that the house was heating up. It was time to wake up, shower, sip coffee and think about how to have a regular day. No need to master the insurmountable, to astound my coworkers with my efficiency and ability to work like a machine. Today was a day to say �how are you� and stick around for the answer.

5:08 p.m. - 2003-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater