paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

catchin' up

I graduated.

I�m typing at my new computer � it is fast and friendly (at least we are off to a good start). My old computer still may have some life in it, but it is beginning to be more frustrating than helpful. My computer is required to be helpful and to be current. Since my old computer was 5 years old it was time. The problem facing me know: what to do with the old computer....

And now I�m ready to be back. I�ve missed Diaryland and my little online diary. Even before dealing with boxes and installation, or the dishes from momma youa day (what my mother and I call Mother�s day ... well, my mother calls it momma mia day and I call it momma youa day because I�m not a momma) brunch I write my first entry. The witty reader may think Piper, Mother�s Day was last week. But, not for my mother. We had a multi-family conspiracy to relocate Mother�s Day to this Sunday as last Saturday�s graduation and Quinn�s Mother�s multi-generational celebration pushed momma youa day and Quinn�s Mother�s Day back. Not because they don�t matter, because they do. I told Mother that if we observed her day last week, the best I could do would be some tired gift and a wilted card. And I wouldn�t be able to pay attention as my graduation from the previous day would still be standing over me, shading my ability to be here now.

The graduation ceremony gave me a mixture of nerves and excitement. I hung out with my colleagues and a couple faculty members waiting for the time to line up. Contemporary people look odd in their regalia, and I kind of like it. My poetry professor stuck her head in the student robing area and told me that my portfolio was �great.� Coming from her, �great� is significant. I�m going to savor �great.�

It feels no different to have an advanced degree. I think because I�ve been working full time and pursuing the degree a bit at a time, I�m not realizing the ful accomplishment. But it always feels great to meet a goal and I think, for me, that is the larger issue. I have difficulty finishing what I start and so graduating becomes proof that I have what it takes to pursue my goals.

I learned the meaning of clusterfuck last Monday at work. We had a conference that the community liaison jacked up by not thinking about it until she had less than a fortnight to pull off the conference. I don�t know what to think about this, but work is becoming more and more distant for me. This could be advantageous because what I want to do is pursue my PhD full-time. Well, time for some dishes and Law and Order: Criminal Intent.

More later.....

7:57 p.m. - 2003-05-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater