paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

drop bush not bombs

Drop Bush not bombs

This afternoon, Quinn and I took a break to be part of a large protest in our quiet, hunky dory ville. And to our surprise, 1600 other people joined us to carry signs, march, chant, get people to honk in the name of protesting the war in Iraq.

We saw friends there. I learned that my friend M. is moving back to Canada with her husband and baby. Her husband got a job in Toronto. A bit of sad news for me, but I am happy that her husband found a job and with them much happiness.

This may be my record for shortest journal entry. I am preparing for an insanely busy week at work and in my classes and have not been taking much time to do anything but prepare for and meet deadlines. Consequently, I am becoming a very dull girl.

But a dull girl who knows when to take a break and do some protesting.

I liked this group � I kept thinking, this is what democracy looks like. All types of diversity. An older, white-haired man with a pipe, sitting in a canvas chair, wrapped in a wool blanket. A bunch of goofy women from the suburbs in coats with fur-lined collars wearing too much perfume. Mother-daughter moment protesters. Dads and lads sharing signs. Radicals. Rebel teens two degrees from trouble. People with drums. People with piercings and tattoos. The plain people who live their lives with intention. The loud people dedicated to politics, democracy and peace.

And it felt good to walk through the fancy shopping district, voices of protest echoing off the buildings, fancy people looking uncomfortable, other people in cars waving, honking, giving the peace sign. And as we walked, our train was so long we could see other people from the group snaking through the streets. And for about 15 minutes, the fancy shopping area was filled with a throbbing, pulsing rhythm of chanting: peace, now, peace, now. It was definitely incredible.

Not as incredible as my experiences marching on Washington. But those are different stories for different days.

11:49 p.m. - 2003-02-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater