paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

scary citizenship program

For a big citizen scare visit this website: http://www.citizencorps.gov/

Today, as I sifted my way through the work day I received an alert from the service-learning listserv, absolutely the most active listserv to which I have ever belonged, regarding an article in the Washington Times (http://www.washtimes.com/national/20020716-75882632.htm). The Justice Department, with the full backing of President Bush, has a new pilot program beginning called Operation TIPS. This fall, 1million informants in 10 cities is encouraging the recruitment of 10 million citizens whose jobs give them access to homes to become government informants. This citizen corps will report suspicious activity to the Justice Department and FEMA will help organize it.

Those of us spending our work lives and teaching lives steeped in service-learning seem to be watching the increased blending of service with government programs. I don�t know how I feel about it. In many ways I would like to see Democracy �fixed.� And service is one way. But when I think about service, I think of Public Achievement (a really incredible program started by Harry Boyte, who is one of my living heroes). I don�t know that I think a lettercarrier delivering a piece of mail to someone from a suspicious entity and reporting that, without the facts, is the type of service that is going to help our country come closer to mitigating some of our biggest social problems.

9:16 p.m. - 2002-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater