paisleypiper's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sticky tape sunset day

It is official � I am assistant director and got a real raise. The kind of raise about which I can feel proud. And my office, with the door, is under construction. When I say official, I should clarify that the paperwork regarding the position has been turned around, as they say. It could be perceived as anticlimactic, but I�ve been working too hard for that. No, this is a big deal. Quinn and I went out for a little celebration this evening. And a storm blew up just at the end of our beers. We had a window seat and delighted in the expression of wonderment on people�s faces, watching the storm, welcoming the breeze and the big drops of rain, the lightening and the thunder. I love sunset storms because the dark gray clouds sit over the pretty, soft colors of sunset, like a lid. It feels like the greatest revenge on all of that sunset romance in big sky country. Darkness has its day too.

The pup also had his day today, his day to get a bath that is. He is all hyped up, running from room to room squeaking a plastic hamburger toy in his mouth. Every once in a while he stops, tries to get one of our attentions, and shakes, rather pathetically.

Baths bring about a bit of angst in the otherwise contentedly simple mind of the pup. He seems to want answers to the big questions when he gets wet. Who has a lap for me? Who is going to hold me? Why was I born? What is wrong with my natural doggy scent? Can I finagle a treat?

I had heard that a friend of mine, upon receiving a package that had been overly-taped, got a large kitchen knife and proceeded to accidentally stab herself trying to cut the tape. So, in honor of her, I resisted taping the bejeezers out of the board materials packages. Although sometimes, it feels good to get the tape out and assure that the package could be dropped numerous times, tossed around, jostled, and still remain in tact. Today I resisted because of friend who did not earn her knife-safety badge. It made me think about all of the funny words we have to avoid breaking that commandment, whatever number it is, about not taking the lord�s name in vain. And what was the impulse that got this whole thing of swearing with religious words and their replacements? Was a curse or swear once a much more serious endeavor than it is today? We are so casual about some of the greatest threats in the entire history of western civilization and the belief patterns of many people. Last night I knocked down the doggie gate and said �g-d-it� because I was in one of my rare bad moods. While at the same time, millions of people are literally going to lengths to avoid that happening. I don�t know what to make of it, the social history of swearing and being illustrative with word choices�. But I wonder about it.

It is a wonder our government lets us tape at all. Tape being so sticky and sticky ushering in the possibility of accidents. But I won�t tell because tape can be fun.

8:36 p.m. - 2002-06-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thistledown
throcky
astralounge
implosive
subversive
dichroic
mechaieh
keryanna
nictate
oddcellist
marn
o-pisces-pal
novembre
mobtown
squishyvan
epiphany
clcassius
frenchpress
baggage
twiggle
jenne1017
sandandwater